Newb - saving firmware signatures quick question

Ok… I am new to the scene… just inherited 2 ATV2 units at apple version 5.3

I went ahead and jailbroke the first one and got it all running without any issue.  However, I was unable to save the blobs and I am not sure why.  I want to get this blob saved just incase an untethered JB comes out for this version.

I turned off all firewalls and anti-virus stuff that could have been interferring.  I am on a PC.  I tried multiple times using the SeasOnPass program, and it would always fail.  I tried using TinyUmbrella as well (with Cydia servers turned both on and off) and it also fails.  I haven’t tried flashback yet… I have read a bit about using the iFaith program directly but I thought that is what these other programs were using?

I believe Apple is still signing the 5.3 version, right?   any clue as to what I am doing wrong with my technique or understanding of the process?

TIA

Your experience replicates what many of us have experienced when trying to save 5.3 (or 5.2.1) signatures with SP 9.3. 

I have not tried TinyUnbrella, but iFaith 1.5.9 will save the signatures. 

So here is where I am…

On the new unit running 5.3, I was able to use iFaith and successfully save the signatures.  Then I went ahead and did the jailbreak and all good.   On the other unit that I have jailbroken (but not saved the signatures), when I run iFaith it seems to get stuck at the Uploading iBECS step.  I thought maybe the servers were getting hit hard with the IOS 7 nonsense, so I waited a few days and went back to my “new” unit that I was previously able to save the signatures on.  This time when I try it, I get to the uploading iBECs stage and it gives me an error that there are no available signatures on that flash.