XBMC, 1 channel, etc...

First apologies for any questions that may exist in other threads.

Not getting the most out of ATV Flash. Seems that all the good stuff resides in XBMC. Such as streaming films, TV, etc…

#1 So, how do I install XBMC on AppleTV? I already installed on my Mac.
I am running AppleTV2, with the latest 5.1 jailbreak that came out yesterday.
#2 I see only a few options of additional software to install, such as NitoTV. I am new at this but NITO doesn’t seem to do much.
There must be more of an upside to jailbreaking and buying ATV flash. Right?

Before the jailbreak I was able to easily stream any film from MAC to AppleTV via a great app called AirVideo. So what am I missing?

BTW, great forum. Lots of activity with helpful people.
Thanks in advance.

XBMC does not currently run on the 5.1 firmware. In fact most of the non-FireCore add-ons need upgrades before they will be compatible with the 5.1 firmware.

I must admit I much prefer to using the FireCore media player than using XBMC and for me that is the big advantage of ATV Flash (black).

Not intending to be a jerk. But I don’t get it.

I jail broke the AppleTV2 and bought atv2 flash and so far the benefit is seeing the weather and couch surfer browser (which works pretty well actually) Beyond these 2 features what am I missing? Do I just need to wait for the 3rd party apps to update for 5.1 iOS?

Seasonpass and FireCore are very well designed software. Seriously job well done.

Is there a feature (that is currently active and not in need of an update) that I have to try right now? I really want to love this jailbreak. Any suggestions are truly appreciated.

If you are not going to use the FireCore Media player which is the main thing myself and all those I know with ATV2+Frecore use then I must agree you are getting minimal benefit fom ATV Flash (Black). However I think there are many like myself who use the Media Payer heavily and avoid XBMC like the plague!

Thanks for the info.