Windows 10 to Apple TV 4K/iPhone 7. No Dice!

Hi guys!

First post here so hello to everyone!

So let me just say that I’m a total noob. I’m moving over to the Apple ecosystem little by little. From my iPhone 7 to my Apple TV 4K to an iMac some time next year.

So seeing as I’m still on Windows PC, I’ve been having trouble connecting my shares to my iPhone or ATV. I’ve tried the guides for sharing and finally got my iPhone to see my laptop but only after setting up a Workgroup.

But under shared, every time I select the Laptop or IP address, I get errors. For the Laptop everything is grayed out and I get the cannot connect error.

For the IP address I get a username and password combination error. Not sure which username/password combo it’s asking for?

I’ve actually been trying for days with no luck. I was looking forward to trying out my 4K HDR movies :frowning:

Thanks for the help!

:slight_smile:

Have you looked at the support page here Streaming From a Mac, PC, or NAS – Firecore ? Down near the bottom of that page is a section “Device specific notes” there’s even a note regarding Windows 10 and a link to a page to help setting that up for sharing.

Good luck!

Hi Bullseye. I’ve tried all of that but I keep getting errors. Homegroup is the only way my laptop is visible. Could you tell me what Username and Password it’s asking for?

Thanks!

Sorry but the last version of windows I had to use on a daily basis was 3.1. Then I realized the error of my ways and went 100% Mac.

It looks like your trying to set up to different ways to access your files, both DLNA and SMB. SMB is what I’ve had best luck with as for speed and not having file names change on their own.

Maybe someone who is more familiar with windows 10 will step up and help you get things going in the right direction. Sorry.