Which really simple NAS for Apple TV 4 and Infuse

Hello, I’m brand new to this so please use small words! I have a big collection of 1080p mp4 and m4v movies on a 4 TB hard drive on a Mac Pro that I used to stream on iTunes to an Apple TV4. I’d like to cut out the middle man (Mac Pro) and just stream using infuse and a NAS connected to my router. I don’t need any special features, just open infuse and stream mp4s. Can you recommend an inexpensive NAS that works with infuse and Apple TV4? I’d prefer one with a hard drive preinstalled for minimal fuss. I had considered the WD WDBVXC0040HWT-NESN and the Buffalo LinkStation 210 . Thanks!

Welcome to the forum!

I’d strongly recommend you stay away from the WD MyCloud Home. There have been tons of issues with that and people running Infuse. Just as a easy fix, have you checked to see if your router supports an external USB drive for sharing?

1 Like

No, my router does not support file sharing via the usb “at this time, but perhaps in the future with a firmware update.” (I love how commital that is)

I use and recommend QNAP, it works great with Infuse and ATV, though there are strong suggestions for Synology amongst comparison sites etc.
Don’t think you would go wrong with either.

FYI:

I have synology and it works great. Since you don’t need on-device encoding you don’t need to look for those advanced models. Do make sure you have at least 2GB of ram though and gigabit ports. You probably are looking at $200-$450 for 2 bay to 4 bay. Also considering getting drives that have plenty of extra space for more content and consider the cost of raiding them. It is always easier to add one drive later than replacing 4 so don’t get 4 1TB drives or anything like that. You can look at the power being used to as that could add up over the years and make the difference between a cheapest model and one step up.

1 Like

Great advice, further to that make sure you get designated NAS drives, not the standard spinning spindle drive.