What worked for me (seas0npass, atvflash 1.1.1)

I’ve been running atvflash for many months now, on my 1st gen and now my (2) 2nd gen apple tvs.

Every time, I’ve had some issues, but with the new seas0npass supporting 4.4.4 I thought I’d share what worked for me.

Keywords: DFU mode, Error 1602, 4.4.4, untethered, atvflash 1.1.1, Mac Install, Lion FullScreen

(Note I did this on my 2011 MacBook Air.  I don’t use Windows for Apple stuff so this is just a Mac instruction guide :slight_smile:

1. You're going to wipe the apple tv anyways doing this, so start by making sure you're clean.  Disconnect the apple tv from the television and connect only the usb (no power) to your computer.  When iTunes appears, tell it to restore to the latest software update (in this case, 4.4.4)
  2. Wait patiently for the apple tv to be restored and wiped.
  3. When it comes up and says you can disconnect, do so, and quit itunes.
  4. OPTIONAL (but caused a problem for me in lion/fullscreen) : open itunes.  REMOVE FROM FULL SCREEN MODE.  quit itunes.  open itunes again, it should NOT be in full screen mode.  exit itunes.)
  5. Download and open seas0npass
  6. Select "Create IPSW"
  7. When it asks you to connect the apple tv, do so with these three steps (IN THIS ORDER)
  8. First, connect the USB cable
  9. Second, connect the power cable
  10. Third, press and hold menu/play for seven seconds.
  11. No need to wait for steps 7-9, just do it in that order.
  12. When you press for 7 seconds (step 9) the light on the apple tv will blink VERY VERY fast.  When you let go, in DFU mode it will blink VERY fast (not VERY VERY fast, just VERY fast).  Then, finally, seas0npass will see the apple tv and continue