USB Detection

Hi Guys,

Im new to using aTV Flash so im hoping you will be able to assist.

I have an external hard drive which I am trying to use and I have tried in both FAT and MAC OS format. I cannot get it to detect at all. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks

Has the Smart Installer been ran? This step is required to enable the AppleTV to use USB devices.
http://wiki.atvflash.com/index.php?title=Smart_Installer

Hi,

Thanks for the reply. I have run the smart installer.

I have the same problem and I have rerun the Installer which says it is up to date. I also am unable to mount Networked Drives. Error is “AFP not enabled properly or is missing essential components, Smart Installer with a 1.0 recovery dmg in User/Documents will fix this issue” But Smart Installer has been run and says it is up to date. Lastly when I am trying to Import All Data under Media it says initializing and scanning for several hours with no results. I let it run all night. Many features I want to use are not usable.

Same deal for me…

Successfully installed aTV Flash/ Smart Installer on Jan 1/2010… no USB external hard drive detection whatsoever when I attach it to my aTV.

(FYI – have managed to use FTP connection with no issues.)

Has anyone managed to solve this yet - I have the same issue with the same AFP error as mentioned above - Very frustrating. I’m using an Apple time-capsule as an external drive only connected via USB not LAN. All updates re-starts completed no USB detected. Very annoyed as this was the main reason for atv purchase and it doesn’t work –

I’m using time-capsule as well… still not working!

What size and format is the drive? The AppleTV will support drives up to 2TB in size in either Mac OS or FAT32 format.