NitoTV and TS_VIDEO files

I’m fairly new at this, so maybe I’m missing something simple, but here’s what’s happening…

I’ve ripped a movie (“Flawless”) and copied it to the AppleTV using Cyberduck. The directory structure is:

Movies/My Movies/DVDs/Flawless_US/TS_VIDEO

I go to the DVD menu, then to setup and set the DVD import location to be the same path as above. Then I go to the DVD>files menu, and can select Movies>My Movies>DVDs…then it just hangs.can’t go forward, can’t exit out.

Any ideas what is going wrong?

A couple of things may be causing this, but here are the solutions.

1. Make sure you have installed the mplayer codecs. This can be done through the DVD > Settings > Install Software > Install mplayer codecs
  2. If you ripped the menus from your DVDs as well, you will need to enable this option. DVD > Settings > Enable DVD Menus

OK, I’ve installed mplayer codecs (as well as running the smart installer) and checked to make sure the DVD menus option was on. I still have the same problem.

If I try to play the VIDEO_TS files using the “files” menu, I get an error saying that I am not authroized to play this content. If I try to play it from the DVD menu option (which I assume is NitoTV) I can select the files sub-menu, but then when I click on the folder, it hangs, and eventually reboots the aTV.

Being able to play from the VIDEO_TS files is my preferred method, as I don’t have to convert to a lesser quality format. Please let me know what else I can do.

Thanks.

For DVDs, make sure the playback setting in DVD > Settings is set to mplayer. If it is set to Quicktime, DVDs will not play.

Thanks, I did check that. Still no good. There aren’t any issues with folder names or anything, like not being able to have spaces…? I’m kind of at a loss, since the installation seemed to go very well.

Do you still have the file locally on your Mac or PC?