MKV File Playback (iOS) and Panasonic PVR

Hi all,

I have just downloaded Infuse 6 for my (up to date) iPhone SE, and directed it to a selection of files on my Mac Mini. I’ve not paid for Infuse Pro yet, but when I get an Apple TV later this year if and when the new one comes out, I may do so then in order to use lossless Dolby & DTS files.

I have a couple of questions, if someone could please help me:

1. I have a few MKV files that a friend of mine made, and Infuse opens them fine. I’m new to making video files like this, but I have used Make MKV on the Mac to (yes) make MKVs from a DVD. When I try to open them in Infuse on my phone, it says I need to upgrade to Pro. VLC seems to open them just fine. As far as I can tell, non-Pro Infuse should open these MKV files as it does with my friend’s files, and I’m not aware I’ve done anything unusual. Have I done something wrong, or should Infuse open these files as VLC does?

2. I have a Panasonic DMR-BWT740 Freeview recorder upstairs with a hard drive of TV recordings. My Panasonic TV can see and use the files no problem over DLNA, but I can’t seem to get Infuse to. It sees the recorder and opens it, but then just gives me an unexplained error in connection. I don’t know what format the files are in, nor if I should expect Infuse to be able to decode them (are they Panasonic proprietary files?), but it would be great if I could get my Apple TV and phone to pick these up too.

Thanks in advance for any input.

Cheers

Rob

Welcome to the forum!