Lesson in Bad UX design

Hey James,
You see that orange button titled “Resume”? Guess what every user expects to happen when it’s selected? That’s right, resume the movie. But does that happen? NO!

Maybe it’s because your UX team doesn’t have a dictionary handy or some other reason (like bad UX leadership–I should know I work in Tech), but they need to actually have the “Resume” button do what “resume” means, and not force the user to YET again confirm what they have selected.

{rant over}

Or you could just use the settings to have it work the way you want.

4 Likes

Thank you!

And as a continued example of Bad UX design, the Default settings should be set up to actually reflect “Resume” rather than have to implement this functionality. Otherwise, the “Resume” button should be something like “Click This Button to Click Another Button”.

And now that I’ve selected “Ask,” the “Resume” button has been replaced by “Play” which doesn’t allow you to immediately RESUME where you left off. Yet more bad UX design. Oy vey. Is it so much to ask for a “just go” button?

…back to the non-“Resume” ask option.
Edit – I found buried in that Resume option, to “ON” — I mean, come on, why hide the obvious? Fire that UX manager!

If you work in tech but don’t know how to turn on simple settings within an app (he even showed you where to go with pictures) maybe you should be the one getting fired from your job?

A great UI gives users options. In this case Infuse gives the users 3 different options. On (which is what you want) ask (which is what I prefer) and off (which someone else may prefer).

The only lesson we can learn in this thread unfortunately is that you have bad manners.

5 Likes