Infuse + Google Drive

Wondering if anyone out there purely uses Infuse with only Google Drive (Unlimited). I’m currently trying to eliminate my needs of the Plex Server and just use infuse with drive as that sounds like it would deliver my needs.

Is anyone out there doing that? And if so, how is your experience so far?

1 Like

I’ve been doing this exclusively for all of 2018, after several years on Plex hosted in my home, managing hardware, and later on remote servers.

If you’re tired of all the sysadmin nonsense that inevitably befalls anyone hosting a service, the experience with Infuse is mostly great, headache-free, and I’ve seen valuable improvements delivered throughout the year, which means the developers are focused and dedicated. The move to Infuse has reduced my bill to $10/mo for Google Drive, versus all variety of self-hosting, remote servers, etc.

You start to see slow downs the larger your content collection is with regards to indexing, opening up indexed libraries, and having new content appear, but they’re not huge downsides.

I’m too scared to add it and scan because I don’t want the 24 hour suspension lol

1 Like

Out of curiosity, what is considered a big library? I’m currently just shy of 20TB but could easily purge half of it.

I’m scared too lol, I’m trying now, it will be nice if @james could give us some kind of guideness with the topic (API ban from Google)

Most people would consider yours big. I’m around 31TB, but I use it as a backup also keep it on my Synology as well so I can only get about 10TB more before I need a new server.

For those of you scared about API bans, it seems the problems may be gone.