Infuse and Homepod home theater - sound issues

Hello,

I have updated my homepods to 14.2 and connected them to Apple TV. However, the sound output from infuse 6 Pro sounds terrible over homepod: the volume is very low (I have to crank up the homepods’ volume and use audio boost), and the sound just sounds off, as if it’s bouncing around between the speakers and lacking brightness and midrange (the sound is very flat and muddy). Also, there’s is noticeable lipsync.

Now, this problem only happens with infuse. If I play the same video using Plex, the volume is much higher, the sound is balanced and dynamic and does not “bounce around”, and the lipsync is perfect. (Additionally, sound on the homepods is excellent when playing from Netflix or Apple TV+).

The sound output of Apple TV 4k is set to “auto”. Everything is on the latest software version (Apple TV, Homepod, Infuse). I have an infuse pro subscription. This files are hosted via my plex library. The problem above happens both for Dolby Digital Plus as well as TrueHD encoded video files.

Please fix this so I can enjoy watching my videos using Infuse, which I prefer to Plex. Thanks!

7 Likes

Yeah I noticed this too. And the problem is that infuse is still treating homepod as Airplay instead of a Speaker. If you go to the audio on infuse while playing a movie and you can clearly see it.

I’ve attached pics for better understanding.![

Image 1: https://i.imgur.com/PduJqyy.jpg
Image 2: https://i.imgur.com/4AMLrRf.jpg

The first image clearly shows my TV speakers as Speakers, but the 2nd image shows homepod as Airplay…

Please fix this guys

1 Like

Same problem. I hope it will be fixed soon.

Have you tried scrolling down on the audio tab in your pics and clicking on the “Speaker” when it’s highlighted? I believe it may give you the option to select differently.

there isn’t any other option. There is Apple TV+Homepod in one and only option and it’s already chosen.