iCloud metadata not syncing

I just got a new 4k Apple TV. Thinking that my Infuse preferences were saved in my iCloud account, I wiped the old one, put in the new one, installed Infuse and directed it to my share. But my saved metadata, preferences for audio and subtitles, & watched indicators did not sync. Is my data lost forever? I have a Pro subscription.

When setting up your new Apple TV, Infuse will restore your saved settings (shares, metadata corrections, playback settings, etc…) automatically. This usually happens pretty quick, but can take a bit of time if you have a larger library.

One thing that can cause trouble is if you set up a new share manually. As you might expect, Infuse will treat this as a new source and your saved info from the other share(s) will not be available.

Do you have any other devices (iPhone, iPad, etc…) using the previously saved shares? Are they still present and working?

I don’t, at least not on the same iCloud account. I saw that Infuse hadn’t restored my share so I set it up again manually. I guess it’s wiped all my data then. That’s pretty disappointing.

Infuse won’t actually delete anything from iCloud (unless you manually remove a share from Infuse, or use the clear all metadata option). However, if you set up the same share again, and then let it sync with iCloud this may overwrite the existing share.

All may not be lost yet, and there are a few things you can try.

1. Are you currently logged into iCloud on the Apple TV? Check in Settings > Accounts > iCloud
  2. Is iCloud Sync enabled in Infuse?

If you answered no to at least one of the above, you may try the following. Even if you answered yes to both, the steps below may be worth trying anyway.

1. Remove the current copy of Infuse.
  2. Ensure you are logged into the iCloud account you previously used.