How is the new Raspberry Pi 4 for Infuse for 4K HDR (ATV4K)?

I’m very new to video streaming and I’m considering a cheap and cheerful home built solution after looking at the costs of dropbox for only 2TB.

I’ve learned so far that Infuse > Plex because no transcoding is required, so I don’t need a powerful box or anything. So I’d like to try infuse!

The new RPi4 apparently has proper gigabit ethernet this time around. Would one of these for the server with a a couple of 4TB SSDs plugged into it be enough for streaming movies or would the USB be a bottleneck? I’m aiming at being able to stream 4K HDR via the Infuse app on Apple TV 4K.

If not, are there any alternative ‘cheap’ solutions around like this (ODROID??)? Any special requirements for the hard drive(s) as I’d have to go out and buy one?

Also I’ve never had a NAS or done anything to do with RAID, but I saw someone suggested having a RAID set up (one for search and one for playing or something)? How necessary is this?

Thanks in advance!

To be quite honest the amount of time and effort to setup a pi4 as a media server and then to deal with any issue that may pop up just isn’t worth it. I’d recommend saving your money and buying a Cheap two drive synology NAS (mirrored drives) or a 4 bay NAS and go that route. The raid is automatic and the 4 bay NAS units allow you to start out with two drives and then add more later on when you want to expand.

I’m guessing you have some sort of router for your home network, why not see if you can just connect a hard drive or two directly to it and share it that way without the added hassle? Linksys has this capability as do many others.

That would get you through till you can afford a dependable NAS.