HEVC playback

What about hevc/x265 playback, mrmc (kodi) for atv4 plays the files without a problem if the bitstream is not higher than 5mbit.
Now it only plays 1 frame a second.

Can anyone else confirm if 1920x800 24fps 10-bit H.265 works in other apps on the Apple TV? It isn’t watchable in Infuse Pro, and I am assuming this is simply a matter of hardware limitation, but if it does indeed work in some other app I would be willing to try it.

I can confirm that. There is an app I’ve been using that decodes 1080p x265 videos without any problem. It’s called HD Player.

First a little background: I’m an avid Infuse Pro user. Until recently I had a 32" LED screen and I was always playing 720p HVEC videos which was enough for that screen real estate. But last week I bought a 43" LED screen so I needed to use 1080p from now on. I knew Infuse can’t play flawless those videos but tried again anyway. It’s not possible to play 1080p HVEC videos through NAS even if I’m using 5GHz 802.11ac local network. So I had a backup plan. There is this tvOS app called “HD Player”. The trick this app has is it has local storage support! You first upload your 1080p video to app’s local storage through browser. And then bam! It plays 1080p HVEC like a charm!

I can’t understand why we can’t have local storage support on tvOS version of Infuse Pro while we can on iOS version. HD Player has this feature since its first days. It supports HEVC, HEVC 10-bit, VC1, VP8, VP9 up to Full HD with an IAP. I’ve been using this app for more than 6 months and it may have been pulled from the app store, I’m not sure. But VLC also has the same local storage option and it also plays 1080p HVEC flawless with local storage.

So what’s FireCore’s take on this matter?

The difference with local storage between iOS and tvOS, is that tvOS can automatically delete any app’s local storage if it decides another app needs the space. I think VLC shows a warning about it.