General chat about... Optimal setup? Should I use XBMC? VNC?

Hi guys!
I have (today) finally updated my AppleTV (2.gn) with the ATV Flash Black. Looks good so far. :slight_smile:

But what I would REALLY appreicate is small… discussion… guide… or whatever… about what features of Apple TV / ATV you “should” use to get the most of it?
(BTW I’m not a hardcore programmer/hacker - but am no tech fool neither… normal installing, IP/network crap, browser settings stuff is OK… telnet and linux commands are out of my leaugue…)

So… Let me start “the guide” to all features by going through what I have installed so far :

• Media Player: Because this was my real reason for buying ATV Flash: So I could play my various video files (in various containeres) from my Synology NAS.. And get subtitle support too (on the fly even).
  • Couch Surfer Pro = a web browser: Just so I can look up a website in case I need to do so on the TV..
  • Weather: Just in case to see the occasional weather report..
  • RowMote: So I can use my the RowMote app on iPhone (and other IOS'es) to control Apple TV replacing the silver remote

These I think I understand, but personally have no use for:

• RSS: So you can quickly follow updates from various RSS feeds, including news and what not..
  • Remote HD: Just like RowMote, but other app.. So the RemoteHD app on iPhone (and other IOS devices) can be used for remote controlling the Apple TV replacing the silver remote
  • Last.FM: Play last.FM internet radio
  • Plex: I presume this is only a "front end" for Plex, meaning that it can be used to stream your videos from a Plex Media Server/Center.. When I'm storing all media on a NAS I guess this will have no use for me. The benefit COULD be if it's possible to stream from other locations, e.g. running a Plex Media Server at home and streaming movies to your vacation house, if that is possible..??

These I really don’t quite understand: