Forced Subtitles

Hey Guys

New here - first up, I LOVE this software! I’m a Pro subscriber because I want to support the project, as it has literally transformed my media library from being a thing of frustration to a thing of simplicty and ease, so thank you very much to the devs! ?

Having discovered there’s a forum, I wanted to ask about the only niggle I have ever discovered on the platform is that forced subtitles seem to be entirely ignored. For background; I rip genuine DVD’s to MKV containers, and I serve them to Infuse whole via a NAS/SMB share.

I have forced subtitles turned on in my Infuse settings, and subtitles turned off at the movie level, but movies with foreign language that don’t contain any ‘burned in’ subtitles simply show nothing, so I then have to toggle subtitles on from the pull down menu, which will show subtitles for the entire dialogue. Not a major problem, but unnecessary nontheless.

So the question is, am I setting something up incorrectly, are forced subtitles just not compatible with MKV in some way, or can I provide any more information to help solve the problem going forward?

Thanks in advance!

MBF

Welcome to the forum!

The ‘Forced’ subtitle option in Infuse relies on the subtitle tracks being tagged as forced. This is generally something that is done when creating the MKV files. Unfortunately, if these tags are missing Infuse won’t be able to recognize the tracks as forced.

FWIW, if a track is in fact tagged as forced, Infuse will display the word ‘Forced’ in parenthesis next to it when viewing the list of subtitles in the Playback Menu (swipe down while a video is playing).

1 Like

mkvtoolnix provides the ability to have a quick way to set a subtitle as forced tag=true. Header editor section will show all those details.

1 Like