External USB Issue

I upgraded to the latest version of ATVflash and Apple TV software and been running with no problems using external seagate freegent 1.5 TB drive. I purchased a new Seagate Freeagent 2 TB drive. I formatted the new drive as a MAC OS extended drive and copied all files and folders exactly as they were on the 1.5 TB drive. I connected the 2 TB drive to AppleTV and I cannot see the drive as mounted. Just in case there was an issue with upgrade i restored the AppleTV to factory and updated AppleTV software. Installed ATVflash again and ran SmartInstaller. I then Physically unplugged AppleTV and brought back up. Connected the 2 TB drive and still do not see the drive. Connected the 1.5 TB drive and see it still without any issues. I connected the 2 TB drive back on my mac to confirm drive and data is ok and it is.

Any suggestions?

Rich

I’m having the exact same issues with the Seagate 2TB drive. I don’t have the 1.5, so I can’t confirm your situation. I’m new to ATV Flash, and was hoping that it would just work, but no such luck. It appears that the drive is not mounted /mnt . My wife is a UNIX guru so I’ll have her look at it. BTW, the ATV sees the drive when I go through the screens to switch my external / internal (which I didn’t do, but the ATV shows the external with the name LocalMedia at 1.8TB.)

I also have a 2TB external HD (ASTONE) that my Apple TV wont detect. I’ve run aTV Flash and Smart Installer as well as powering off with the HD connected or not connect - and nothing works.

I’ve just tried a 1TB ASTONE ext HD and the AppleTV detects it and I can play movies from the HD - it works.

Are we sure the 2TB HD is supported?

I now have a problem were I can see the 1TB HD in CyberDuck but I can’t access it, meaning I can’t see the files on the HD or transfer files from the AppleTV to the HD.

Exact same problem.

Can see the new 1.5T drive in Cyberduck - but not in Nito
The other 1T, and 1.5T are both readable in Nito/Files/Boxee

Help!