Embedded Metadata (What is specifically used?)

Hey, I’m new to Infuse and I’m trying to understand why my media has almost no metadata when I add to the application. I’ve turned off online fetch for now (it marks every TV episode as a movie) and have it set to use Embedded Metadata only.

From what I can gather it only collects a portion of the embedded metadata. Title, Description, Genre, and Artwork. I use Subler to apply metadata to all my files. Each file also contains Media Kind (specifying Movie or TV Show), Release Date, Ratings, Cast, Director, Studio, etc. TV Shows also contain TV Show, TV Season, TV Episode, TV Network, etc.

The structure for my files is relatively simple.

Movies / Name.mp4
TV Shows / TV Show / Season / Episode - Name.mp4

If I browse favourite folders for my TV Series everything is organized properly. The issues are mostly regarding how it interacts with the default Movie and TV Show groupings. Everything is classified as “Other”. Note: This problem also exists when I use online fetch for metadata. Everything is under “Other” and Movies and TV Shows are both empty.

TL;DR: Does Infuse read all embedded metadata or only a handful of items. If only select items, why? I’ve reached out to Infuse support but no one has responded. Hopefully someone on here can help me figure this out. Love the app but unusable without proper metadata.

1 Like

Welcome to the forum!

Sorry I can’t answer exactly what embedded items Infuse uses but I am curious as to why you wouldn’t use one of the biggest features Infuse offers with the ability to fetch metadata and present it in a great format. Yes, it does miss occasionally but usually it’s a quick fix with the file name to correct it.

If you follow the recommended file naming formats in the users guide here Metadata 101 – Firecore Infuse does all of the heavy lifting for metadata.