Did I make a mistake getting a second year subscription?

Given that aTV users can update via the plug-ins menu, did I make a mistake taking a second year subscription out? Ok, I can download the entire new version each time it comes out but an existing user who’s subscription has ended effectively get’s the updates for free. What are the benefits to taking your subscription beyond the first year? I Perhaps i’m missing something but I can’t help feel a bit cheated.

TT.

While many updates can be installed via the AppleTV menu, a full re-install using a USB drive will be required when updating the AppleTV system software (E.G. AppleTV 3.0.1).