Avoid marking item as "Currently watching" for accidental plays

As the subj. says. This because sometime I may start by mistake a video (movie/TV show) I have already watched, that gets marked as currently watching, and to “fix” it I have to mark it as watched again. The issue is that it gets (rightly?) synchronised with Trakt TV, and that puts the video on top of the watched ones. Also (I believe) adding to the count of times we watched a video.

Also it’s a feature already present in some VoD services like Netflix. I mean, it isn’t the end of the world, sure. But i’d like to keep my history as much realistic as possible.

4 Likes

(especially if selected because of inconsistent UI experience)

Often, trying to figure out how to use the latest version of Infuse on my Apple TV, I’ll try long pressing on a video’s poster/thumbnail image seeking a pop-up options menu; or short press the same seeking a details page … and when there isn’t one, the video begins playing back instead.

No matter how quick I realize this, and back out, the video is immediately flagged as “Watching” and added to the UP NEXT bar and playback queue. Even if the video never even started playing, because the server connection didn’t have time to establish.

When long pressing, and there is no menu, there’s the feeling of dread knowing Infuse is going to spin up your hard drives as soon as you let go of the button, and there’s nothing you can do to stop it. :grimacing:

You then have to select the item again, get to its details page, and twice press “marked as watched” / “marked as unwatched” to remove it from the WATCHING (in-progress) list. Tedious and annoying.

Thanks!

@james

If you move something (like this post, to another made three and a half years ago that had no replies) without commenting or tagging it (as “researching” or “planned”, etc.) … does that basically mean we shouldn’t be expecting a fix anytime this century :grimacing:?

If we have an algorithm that properly marks a video WATCHED even when we don’t get all the way to the end (because people often don’t want to watch credits), why can’t we have one that only marks it WATCHING if we’ve watched at least three to five seconds of it?