Audio noise when playing mkv files

Hi,

I just purchased a new aTV 2 and installed the good firecore things. But when trying to stream the first two mkv files from my Mac Mini’s external drive I can either not hear any sound (AC3 and DTS disabled) or just noise (AC3 or DTS or both enabled). I am not using the optical audio, just HDMI to my TV.

Anyone has an idea? Since I am new to this matter I may have missed some settings.

thx,

Chris

Update: The third mkv file now plays without audio problems.

When I look at the metadata of the files displayed by the media player, one file that doesn’t play has audio “DCA (DTS Coherent Acoustics)” and the other one “ATSC A/52A (AC-3)”. Are those types not supported by the media player? Or am I still missing some settings?

thx,

Chris

Hi Chris,

Try setting the audio output on the regular aTV2 setting screen to 16-bit. it should work.

let me know if this works for you.

Hi,

Thank you for your fast reply. Unfortunately it doesn’t work. When I checked the settings it was already set to 16 bit. I changed it to Auto, tried playing the movie again, and when returning to the settings pane it was set to 16 bit again. Somehow this is modified by the aTV. 

Maybe you have another idea?

regards, Chris

how do you have your atv2 connected? It could be an issue with your receiver not recognizing the signal or the MKV file. I have all my ISO converted to MKV and they work fine.

can you try an ISO file and see if they work?

Let’s try to isolate the problem from the file and see if it is an issue with the receiver (if you are using one) I don’t know.

I have the aTV connected with an HDMI cable to my TV. That’s it. No A/V receiver in between. I’ve also tried to play with the HDMI Audio settings on my TV but I only can choose between Auto, Analog and Digital.

I don’t have any ISO but I will create one of one of my DVDs and then try to play it.