AFP not installed?

This seems to be a well thought out product with good support and excellent documentation considering the cost of the product. I had no hesitation in spending $50 after reading the feature set.

The install seemed to go without a hitch but there are several issues i now need to resolve. The purpose of this post is my primary aim: which is to stream movies from my external HDD, (connected to my iMac) to the ATV

I have followed the instructions here to set up the share - http://wiki.atvflash.com/index.php?title=Network_Streaming

When i go to nitoTV> network i get the error:

“AFP is not installed properly or is missing some essential components. Smart installer with 1.0 recovery dmg in ~/Documents will fix this isssue”

According to the ATV interface Smart installer is correctly installed.

I am a web developer so have a reasonable understanding of these things but I am new to macs.

I am using Apple Tv v2.4 and ATVFlash v3.6.2 in other words the latest versions of both apps.

Can someone help?

I’m assuming your Apple TV came with 1.0 originally?

Thanks for the reply. Yes, i think 1.0 originally. I upgraded to 2.4 before installing ATVFlash per the instructions. I had upgraded the ATV software on 2 previous occasions since i originally purchased it - which was around October 2007

So you have had AFP working on previous versions?

Well i’m not certain. I have streamed movies and audio to the ATV before via an iTunes link - but from a PC. My iMac (where i am now trying to stream content from) is new but i have streamed content to the ATV before from friends macbooks without any problem and i guess that would have used AFP?

Hi there!
Did you create the recovery.dmg from your atv? Take a look at the smart installer log. It should say “valid recovery.dmg found” if it´s really 1.0 (the log pops up first time you use smart installer).
cheers
winmann

I have the same problem as the original poster did, including the same error message