Behavior that I am seeing: When I add a Plex share to one user on my AppleTV, that Plex share is automatically added to another AppleTV user in Infuse. When I remove it from that user, it also removes it from the original user I added it to. It is as if the configuring a Plex share for one user auto-configures it for another, despite them having separate iCloud profiles on the AppleTV.
Details:
I have an AppleTV 4k as my set up box and a Plex server as my media backend with a fully licensed lifetime Plex Pass membership.
My plex server is made up of 1 admin account with a logon PIN and a dedicated email address on it that is the server owner and three users that each have their own full Plex account and were added to Plex Home (i.e. not a managed plex user, they are full plex users). Each of the three non-admin users represents a different member of our household. For simplicity, we will call them Mom, Dad, Kiddo.
On the Apple TV, I also have three full iCloud accounts connected for Mom, Dad, and Kiddo. Each has their own AppleID that is also used on that person’s iPads, MacBooks, etc. We are all in a family sharing group in iCloud. All of this works just fine with the native AppleTV Plex client (other than the fact that it is unmaintained and sucks in general lol). All users can connect and play media just fine from the server using their own plex profiles with the native app.
I have now installed Infuse with the 3 day trial. If it fixes my 7.1 TruHD quality and Remux stuttering, I will buy a lifetime pass today if I can solve this profile issue, but I cannot for the life of me figure out how to get each of our AppleTV profiles connected to our Plex profiles via Infuse.
What I am doing:
- Begin on my “Dad” iCloud account on the AppleTV
- Install Infuse on my Apple TV and restore my Pro purchase (free trial)
- Open settings in Infuse and add my Plex server. I authenticate with my Dad account (or the Plex admin account, this behavior is consistent either way) and select “Dad” from the list of users presented. I leave “advanced” to the default “direct” mode.
- I can now see my libraries in my Dad profile and play my media. This is great!
- I switch AppleTV users to the “Mom” iCloud account on the same AppleTV. I am presented with the Infuse “switching user” screen as it loads her profile.
- Her profile is automatically populated with the plex share from the “Dad” profile, including the automatic connection to the “dad” account in Plex. Any changes that I make to the share here also impact the Dad profile. It is as if they are linked somehow.
For some strange reason, the Kiddo profile works exactly as I would expect. I set up an independent connection to the Plex and select the corresponding Kiddo Plex profile and everything just works. What am I missing that is causing “Mom” and “Dad” to seemingly share a Plex Share config while Kiddo, on the exact same device connecting to the exact same server, is different?
The quality difference and simplicity of the library are AMAZING but I feel like I am losing my freaking mind trying to figure out what I am doing wrong.
EDIT: Solved by deleting the Mom profile from the AppleTV’s users and re-connecting it. After doing this, I also uninstalled the Infuse app and rebooted the AppleTV just to be safe. Then, I reinstalled the Infuse app and set everything up from scratch and it worked as expected. Seems like this is still some type of bug even in 26.6. Or perhaps a bug I’ve never noticed before being carried over from a previous upgrade.