A tv 2 IOS 6.0 jailbreak

is it possible to jailbreak atv2 ios 6.0 if so how?

Not yet.

5.3 may still be possible and it’s jailbreakable. If it’s not being signed you will just get an error message and nothing will happen to your ATV so you might as well try it.

thanks for the reply, sorry i am not with you, i am new to this jailbreaking thing, are you saying i could be able to roll back to a previos ios version and then jailbreak from there?

version 5.3 is a tethered jailbreak (if you lose power to ATV you will have to re-tether it… NOT re-jailbreak, just re-tether). 5.3 is in a position that at any time apple could stop signing the firmware and then you, johnyboy57, if you have no saved signatures, will have to wait for a 6.0 jailbreak. As of today I don’t know if 5.3 is still being signed, so that’s whay I suggested you try it and see.

If you have any saved signatures (please read though forum for that) you can always go back to that/those versions.

Hi Carpenter thanks again for the help, I do not have any saved signatures so I guess now would be too risky to jailbreak, guess I will just have to wait until there is a jb for iOS 6.0, I may as well save my current signature though and then refrain from upgrading my iOS until then!

You may be able to jailbreak to 5.3, give it a try.

What version is your ATV2 currently running johnyboy57 ?

Actually I have done a bit more research and it seems I have the 3G version so I won’t be able to jailbreak it just now anyway, I assumed it was the 2g version as my son bought it for me in America and told me it was the 2g, he installed it for me also, thanks for all the advice on here anyway

I’m having the same issue as you. My ATV2 has 6.0 and so far I, too, have been unsuccessful at JBing it with IPSW 5.3. I think we do have to wait for the next version.