A must-NOT-have feature

Take out the Update menu item from the Settings; or at least password protect it. I won’t be able to sleep knowing anybody in my house could inadvertently run the on-device firmware update.

 

The current jailbreak disables the Update feature even though it remains in the Menu. I suspect actually removing it is not that easy.

I never wanted to try to figure out what would happen if I were going to run the update. It’s a relief to know that’s been disabled. Still like to know what would happen if I select the Update then hit OK.

It will simply say that no update is available.

Good to know. Thanks and good night :)

If you’re curious at all the way they accomplish this is by adding an entry to the HOSTS file to redirect any update checks to the local machine.